Liberty Announces 2017 Opening Day Roster


NEW YORK, NY – MAY 12, 2017 – Team President Isiah Thomas today announced the New York Liberty’s 12-player roster for the tipoff of the 2017 WNBA season.

Player Height Pos. College Exp.
#1 Shavonte Zellous 5-10 G Pittsburgh 8
#4 Nayo Raincock-Ekunwe 6-2 F Simon Fraser (Canada) R
#7 Kia Vaughn 6-4 C Rutgers 8
#8 Bria Hartley 5-8 G Connecticut 3
#9 Rebecca Allen 6-2 G Australia 2
#10 Epiphanny Prince 5-9 G Rutgers 7
#14 Sugar Rodgers 5-9 G Georgetown 4
#15 Brittany Boyd 5-9 G California 2
#17 Amanda Zahui B. 6-5 C Minnesota 2
#21 Cierra Burdick 6-2 F Tennessee 2
#31 Tina Charles 6-4 F Connecticut 7
#41 Kiah Stokes 6-3 C Connecticut 2

The Liberty is coming off back-to-back 20-plus win seasons and WNBA Playoff berths. Last year, New York finished 21-13 overall, posting the best record in the Eastern Conference for the 2nd year in a row. Head coach Bill Laimbeer returns for his 5th season in New York. Over the past two years, Laimbeer has guided the Liberty to a 44-24 (.647) record.

The Liberty’s 2017 Home Opener presented by Kia Motors will be on Saturday, May 13, as New York hosts the San Antonio Stars at Madison Square Garden at 3 p.m. The 1st 5,000 fans in attendance will receive a Liberty rally towel courtesy of Kia.

New York Liberty single-game tickets are on sale now, and can be purchased at the Madison Square Garden Box Office, online at, and Season ticket packages are available by calling 212-465-6073 or by visiting