New York Liberty Guard Betnijah Laney Voted to 2021 WNBA All-Star Game

Laney will play in her first career WNBA All-Star Game on July 14 in Las Vegas

NEW YORK – JUNE 30, 2021 – Betnijah Laney has been selected to play in the AT&T 2021 WNBA All-Star Game, to be held July 14 at Michelob Ultra Arena at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

The WNBA’s Most Improved Player in 2020, now in her first season with the Liberty, has earned her first All-Star selection. After posting career-highs of 17.2 ppg and 4.0 apg last season with Atlanta, Laney has increased her output in 2021 to 19.7 ppg (6th in league) and 5.3 apg (7th in league). She is shooting a career-high 50% from the field and 31.7% from three-point range.

“We couldn’t be more excited to hear that Betnijah has been selected to join her first WNBA All-Star team,” said Liberty Head Coach Walt Hopkins. “In only a few short months in New York—by way of her tireless work ethic, selfless leadership, and indomitable will to improve and to do whatever the team needs in order to win—B has already made an indelible mark on our organization. You’d be hard pressed to find a player more deserving of this honor, and we’re certain that this is only the first of many such accomplishments to come.”

The 6-0 guard/forward will make her first WNBA All-Star appearance this year becoming the 15th New York Liberty All-Star, along with Kym Hampton (1999), Rebecca Lobo (1999), Teresa Weatherspoon (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003), Vickie Johnson (1999, 2001), Sue Wicks (2000), Tari Phillips (2000, 200, 2002, 2003), Becky Hammon (2003, 2005), Ann Wauters (2005), Shameka Christon (2009), Cappie Pondexter (2011, 2013, 2014), Essence Carson (2011), Tina Charles (2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019), Sugar Rodgers (2017), and Kia Nurse (2019).

All-Star selections this season were conducted through a combination of voting by fans (50 percent), current WNBA players (25 percent) and a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters (25 percent), with the league’s coaches selecting a 12-player team from among the top 36 vote-getters.

The 17th WNBA All-Star Game will be broadcast live by ESPN at 7 p.m. ET on July 14.