New York Liberty Announce 2020 Schedule

Liberty Tip-off Opening Day Against the Storm, July 25 at 12pm ET on ESPN

BRADENTON, FLA. – July 13, 2020 – 
The WNBA today announced the 22-game schedule for the 2020 season. The New York Liberty will tip off its 24th season at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla. To view the complete 2020 schedule, please click here.

New York will be featured on Opening Day, July 25, against the Seattle Storm with tip-off slated for 12 p.m. ET on ESPN.  The league’s star-studded inaugural single-site matchup will include New York’s 2020 No. 1 overall pick Sabrina Ionescu, All-Star guard Kia Nurse, and Seattle’s 2018 WNBA MVP Breanna Stewart and the WNBA all-time assists leader Sue Bird.

During the regular season, which runs July 25 through Sept. 11, 16 of the Liberty’s 22-game schedule will be nationally televised games on ESPN, CBS or CBS Sports Network. The Liberty’s local broadcast schedule will be shared at a later date in partnership with the team’s official regional TV partner, the YES Network.

The Liberty will face each opponent twice and host as the designated home team for 10 games and the designated visiting team the remaining 12 games. A full-length postseason will begin at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top eight teams qualifying for the playoffs. The first and second rounds are single-elimination, and the WNBA Semifinals and Finals are the best-of-five.

First-year Head Coach Walt Hopkins will lead the team as they look to rebound from two season below .500 and make a run for the for the playoffs for the first time since 2017.

As one of the eight original franchises in the WNBA, the New York Liberty have made four WNBA Finals Appearances (1997, 1999, 2000, 2002) and is in search of its first championship.